Expressions of Our Municipalities

This morning, the Prescott-Russell Arts Council (CAPRAC), in collaboration with the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR), unveiled the works of art that are part of the second edition of the Prescott and Russell Artists' Outreach Project entitled Expressions of Our Municipalities. Eight artists were selected from all the municipalities that make up the United Counties of Prescott and Russell to exhibit one work each on the walls of the UCPR Council Chambers for one year.

This initiative, launched in 2019, resumes as the Council Chambers reopen for meetings after their closure due to the pandemic. The exhibition, which aims to bring together various artistic expressions from all corners of the unceded territory on which we are fortunate to live and create, is an exhibition featuring an artist ambassador from each of our municipalities to celebrate and showcase our regional and community identity.

"It is a great honour for us to exhibit and promote the extraordinary talent of our regional artists right here in the Council Chambers," said Daniel Lafleur, Warden of the UCPR Council and Mayor of the Municipality of Casselman. “In fact, over the next year, I encourage our citizens to come and admire these magnificent works and to support our artists who have been particularly impacted in recent years.”

In 2020, due to the closure of the UCPR offices during the pandemic, the exhibit was no longer accessible. To ensure the visibility of the artists, CAPRAC has created virtual content, including a video exhibition on its YouTube page. This year, CAPRAC will increase its efforts to create more ways to enjoy the exhibition. In addition, starting in July, the Council Chambers will be open to the public on the second Friday of each month to view the works in person and free of charge.

"We are extremely proud of our ongoing relationship with the United Counties of Prescott and Russell," said Éric Charlebois, CAPRAC’s President. "It is paramount, in our view, that our members showcase their respective Municipality and that they are ambassadors in making sure our region shines bright. In return, it is crucial that our esteemed partners buy into the uniting power of art and the artists’ creative pulse."

In April, a call for artists was launched to find the eight artists and eight works needed for this exhibition. A Selection Committee was appointed to choose the works from the submissions. CAPRAC would like to thank the Committee Members for their dedicated work and all the artists who answered the call.

The following eight artists have been selected for the 2022-2023 exhibition:

  • Township of Alfred and Plantagenet: Darquise Delorme
  • Municipality of Casselman: Manon Doran
  • Township of Champlain: Crystal Beshara
  • City of Clarence-Rockland: Bernard Lévesque
  • Town of Hawkesbury: Agata Michalska
  • Township of East Hawkesbury: Kim Woodbury
  • The Nation Municipality: Pierre Caron
  • Township of Russell: Désirée Perras

The Conseil des arts Prescott-Russell Arts Council (CAPRAC) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to inform the community of the various cultural, artistic, and heritage events in the region, to bring together cultural, artistic, and heritage stakeholders, to support the realization of unifying initiatives, and to promote the arts, culture, and heritage of Prescott and Russell.

Pictured from left to right: Agata Michalska, Kim Woodbury, Pierre Caron, Darquise Delorme, and Bernard Lévesque.

For further information:

Karine Lévesque-Noyes
Executive Director
Conseil des arts Prescott-Russell Arts Council
[email protected]
(613) 307-0491

Olivier Berthiaume
Chief of Staff and Communications Coordinator
United Counties of Prescott and Russell
[email protected]
(613) 675-4661

Posted on 06/01/2022
Group photo of some of the participating artists